# The Hertford County Association of Change-Ringers

Established 29th October, 1884 Registered Charity No. 1037400

# Annual General Meeting via Zoom Saturday 29<sup>th</sup> August 2020. 4.30pm Agenda

NOTE: Anyone wishing to attend will need to register with their district secretary or the assn secretary Registration by 24<sup>th</sup> August please

- 1) Welcome by the President
- 2) Apologies for absence.
- 3) Loss of Members by death: Joyce Seabrook & John Sutton (Abbotts Langley), Gill Flitton (Bushey). Basil Jones & Alastair Stracey (Hertford), Trevor Chapman (Standon), Roger Gedye (Wheathampstead), Dora Scott (Kimpton), Deborah Crawley (Hemel Hempstead), Bill Preston (Northchurch), Stephen Coley (Standon), Stephanie Willcocks (St Stephen, St Albans), Vaughan Bloom (Hitchin), Kenneth Westwood (Bishops Stortford), Frank Kirby (Thorley), Sheila Edmonson (Harpenden), Hugh L'Estrange (Wheathampstead), Roger D R Brown (Lemsford), Elizabeth Bowen (Gt Stanmore), Gracie Fitzsimmons (St Albans Abbey)

#### 4) Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at Much Hadham on 27<sup>th</sup> April 2019

#### 5) Matters Arising

- a. Open day was held and raised  $\pm$ 793. This was the last open day for some considerable time.
- b. A proposal to change the annual subs has been postponed and an alternative way of funding the Bell fund is to be proposed next year
- c. An electronic list of all members has been collated via the President and is now in operation.

#### 6) Officers' Reports for 2019

- a. Secretary
- b. Librarian
- c. Peal Secretary
- d. Bell Restoration Fund Trustees
- e. Treasurer prop
- f. Y@H manager
- g. Safeguarding Officer
- h. CCCBR reps

## 7) Election of new members

- a. Life Members (Elected): Audrey Walters
- b. Ratification of the following Non-Resident Members from 2019, elected in a belfry election before a peal:

**Rachel Titmuss** 

8) Award of Ursula Fergusson Bequest: Thomas Cubitt of Sawbridgeworth

# 9) Election of Association Officers and Independent Examiner for 2020-21. Nominations received are:

Post	Current Holder	Nominee
President	Claire May	Claire May
General Secretary <sup>1</sup>	Tony Crowther	Tony Crowther
Assistant Secretary <sup>2</sup>		
Treasurer <sup>3</sup>	Chris Hoare	Chris Hoare

Librarian	Richard Sales	Richard Sales
Peal Secretary	Brian Watson	Brian Watson
Independent Examiner <sup>4</sup>	Trevor Groom	Trevor Groom
Ringing Coordinators	Richard Sales	Richard Sales
	Kevyn Hopkins	Kevyn Hopkins
Safeguarding Officer	Carolyn Crawley	Carolyn Crawley
Y@H Manager	Jennifer Johnson	Jennifer Johnson
Book Service Manager	Valerie Clark	Valerie Clark

<sup>1</sup> Ex-officio Trustee and Chairman of the Trustees of the Bell Restoration Fund

<sup>2</sup> Ex-officio Trustee of the Bell Restoration Fund

<sup>3</sup> Ex-officio Trustee and Secretary/Treasurer of the Bell Restoration Fund

<sup>4</sup> Ex-officio Independent Examiner of the Bell Restoration Fund

#### 10) Transfer of funds from the Association to the Bell Restoration Fund

A transfer from the general fund to the BRF of  $\pounds4500$ 

## 11) Grant recommendations of the Bell Restoration Fund Trustees

- a. St Mary the Virgin, Furneux Pelham £1728. Create ground floor ringing room.
- b. St John the Baptist, Great Amwell £5000. Tower stonework.
- c. All Saints, Little Munden £2500, repairs to bell frame and fittings.
- d. Additional grant to B Stortford £3500, cost increase.

#### 12) Ratification of Bell Restoration Fund Trustees for 2020-2021

Representing
Bishop's Stortford District
Eastern District
Northern District
St Albans District
Watford District
Western District

Current Trustee Tracey Coley David Harris Rosemary Pateman Richard Sales Jean Machin Brian Watson Nominee Tracey Coley David Harris Rosemary Pateman Richard Sales Jean Machin Brian Watson

#### Elected by

B'p's Stortford District Eastern District Northern District St Albans District Watford District Western District

#### 13) Fund raising for BRF;

- a) Reminder Easy Fundraising easyfundraising.org.uk + Amazon-Smile Hertford County bell restoration fund.
- b) Other fund raising activities: Standing order facility to be introduced.
- c) 200 Club increase to £20 per ticket.

## **14) 200 Club draw** (2x£150)

15) Date and place of next AGM – 24<sup>th</sup> April 2021 in the St Albans District. (was orig Watford district)

Close

Tony Crowther Honorary Secretary